‘Scholars’ of the year named

Panaji: The department of higher education on Tuesday announced the name of those selected for the Goa Scholars’ Scheme 2015-16.

The twenty selected are Bhargav Joshi (PhD in physics, University of Florida, USA), Shenoy Gourav (MS computer science, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA), Susana Quadros (MBA, Catolica, Portugal/USA), Salim Veljee (MS in information technology, Carnegie Mellon University), Richa Patil (PhD, structures (earthquakes), IIT-Bombay), Amrita Acharya (Executive PG course at IIM-Ahmedabad), Neeti Bandodker (MBA, Dartmouth College), Nandini Menon (DNB medical oncology, Prince Aly Khan Hospital, Mumbai), Farcia Celine Soares (MS in architecture, urban and regional design, New York Institute of Technology), Charmaine Rodrigues (Global Masters in information systems management, Carnegie Mellon), Esha Keni (Master of computational data science, Carnegie Mellon), Ivan Rodrigues (MS in mechanical engineering, Arizona State University), Yogiraj Mantri (MS in simulation sciences, RWTH Aaachen University, Germany), Yashank Sakhardande (Masters in computer engineering, University of California), Rahul Prabhudesai (MS in sports management, UK), Shraddha Sawardekar (MBA, Yale), Niels Menezes (MS in biomedical sciences, Edinburgh University, Scotland), and Sidhesh Wadikar (MS in telecommunication, Syracuse, USA).

The selection panel, headed by Ashank Desai, met on April 10, 11 and 12. Other members were Fr Bento Rodrigures, Shrinivas Dempo, Vivek Kamat and Erwin DeSa. The director of higher education was member secretary.